Personal Profile

Mullapudi Harischandra Prasad (Telugu: ముళ్ళపూడి హరిశ్చంద్ర ప్రసాద్), (28 July 1921 – 3 September 2011) was an Indian politician and industrialist. He was the chairman and managing director of the Andhra Sugars Group and an industrialist from South India. He was also the managing director of Andhra Petrochemicals and the President of the Federation of Andhra Pradesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FAPCCI). He is regarded as one of the pioneers of Andhra Pradesh industry having started Andhra Sugars in 1947 – one among the first industries set up in Independent India and hence called "Andhra Birla". He established the first aspirin factory in India and created a rocket fuel unit that supplied to Indian Space Research Organisation.

He is originally from the town of Tanuku in Andhra Pradesh, born to Mullapudi Thimmaraju and Venkataramanamma. He belongs to a zamindar family, He is survived by five daughters and three sons.Harischandra Prasad was elected twice as a member of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly representing the Indian National Congress. Later when the Telugu Desam Party was formed he is known to have played a key role in the party.

Harischandra Prasad was known for his philanthropy, particularly in setting up educational and medical trusts. He played an important role in establishing Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh and SMVM Polytechnic, Tanuku, Andhra Pradesh. He also established Mullapudi Venkata Ramanamma Memorial Hospital and Research Centre in Tanuku, Andhra Pradesh.

Professional career

  • Chairman and managing director, Andhra Sugars Limited
  • Executive Director, Andhra Petrochemicals Limited, Visakhapatnam
  • managing director, Andhra Chemicals Corporation
  • Director, Elecon Engineering Co. Ltd. Vallabh Vidyanagar
  • Director, Andhra Foundry & Machine Tools Ltd.
  • Chairman, Jayalakshmi Oil and Chemical Industries Limited (Jocil Ltd.)
  • Chairman and managing director, Sree Satyanarayana Spinning Mills Ltd, Tanuku
  • Jayalakshmi Fertilizers
  • Chairman, Sree Akkamamba Textiles Ltd.

Political career

  • Secretary in the AP Congress Committee from 1946 to 1955
  • Member of state Legislative Council in Common Madras in 1952[10]
  • Elected MLA from Tanuku twice in 1955 and 1961
  • First chairman of the Tanuku municipality in 1981[11]

Awards and honours

  • Honorary Doctorate by Nagarjuna University[10]
  • U.B. Raghavendra Rao Memorial Award[12]
  • President, Federation of Andhra Pradesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FAPCCI)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award at Z24 hours Telugu news channel's Industrial Awards[13]
  • Telugu Thalli award from Government of Andhra Pradesh